Custom Search

Friday, September 25, 2009

Pearl Jam Back On Top With Backspacer

They say the 9th times a charm. As initial album sales forecast, Backspacer—Pearl Jam’s 9th studio album—seems to be headed to a number one spot on the Billboard’s Top 200 charts. Pearl Jam hasn’t seen this chart topping since 1996’s No Code. After 13 years of waiting, Pearl Jam is finally expected to win big with their newest album and sell a projected 175,000 to 200,000 copies.

is different from Pearl Jam’s previous, as the bands first album that doesn’t have a big label behind it.
Also, at some disapproval from fans, Pearl Jam decided to strike a deal with Target in regards to selling their album exclusively in their stores. But according to Eddie Vedder, Target passed their “moral barometer…and the fans just have to trust [them]” that partnering with Target is in everyone’s best interest. The album is still available on iTunes, but a purchase through Target gets the fans 11 “exclusive full-concert downloads,” from throughout Pearl Jam’s musical career.

According to Rolling Stone, Vedder feels “[Backspacers’] songs come off more like sparkling water than pea soup, and I think that’s good for our group right now.” This likeness leaves something to be imagined, but sparkling water is preferred over pea soup any day. With a full-length of only 37 minutes, Backspacer is Pearl Jam’s shortest album to date.

Track List:

1. “Gonna See My Friend”
2. “Got Some”
3. “The Fixer”
4. “Johnny Guitar”
5. “Just Breathe”
6. “Amongst The Waves”
7. “Unthought Known”
8. “Supersonic”
9. “Speed Of Sound”
10. “Force Of Nature”
11. “The End”

-Marie Baginski
Currently listening to Backspacer

This content is solely the property of The Athens Blur Magazine and may not be re-produced without expressed written consent. The Athens Blur Magazine is an 8 issue/year music & variety publication proud to be based in the Classic City of Athens, Ga. For more information, please contact

No comments:

Post a Comment